Loss of Trust

CAN WE THRIVE WITHOUT TRUST IN GOVERNMENTS?

 

Why This Debate and Why Now?

Public trust in governments is near historic lows, as confidence plummets and belief in institutions’ basic fairness and functions erodes each day, according to global studies. Three quarters of all governments are mistrusted by their citizens. How can we restore trust? Or should we not? Should we move trust to new social initiatives and technologies instead of the old formal bodies of government?

Three experts will tackle the topic of trust on November 12, 2019, with live digital voting and audience participation. Mark your calendar and join the debate now @DohaDebates with the hashtag #DearWorld, and let us know how much trust you have or can possibly have in your governments.

Our Participants

SPEAKERS

Three speakers, three perspectives. Each invited speaker presents a view and opinion on a possible solution to a world challenge.

Toni Lane Casserly

Toni Lane Casserly

Co-founder of Cointelegraph, the largest media network in the blockchain industry

Brett Hennig

Co-founder of the Sortition Foundation and author of The End of Politicians: Time for a Real Democracy
Zeid al Hussien

Prince Zeid Ra'ad Zeid al-Hussein

Former United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights

 

 

Connector

The role of connector is to combine elements of each opinion to create a new response that deconstructs arguments and examines their consequences.

Govinda Clayton

Senior researcher in peace processes at the Centre for Security Studies at ETH Zurich

 

Moderator

Our moderator assists the speakers and audience throughout the show and is the audience’s advocate for accuracy and insight.

Ghida Fakhry

International broadcast journalist and award–winning presenter

Correspondent

Our correspondent acts as the voice of the outside world during our live debate.


Nelufar Hedayat

Award–winning journalist and documentary maker

grande halle de la villette paris

Our debate will take place November 12, 2019

Loss of Trust Debate in Paris

Paris 6:30 p.m.

Doha 8:30 p.m.

New York 12:30 p.m.

Mumbai 11:00 p.m.

Find the time in your city here

Watch the debate live on Twitter, Facebook and YouTube.
Add to Calendar 11/12/2019 06:45 PM Europe/London GMT+1 Loss of Trust Debate in Paris false

How to Join the Debate

Doha Viewing Event:

Join us for a live viewing event and reception.

Register here.

Doha Debates will broadcast live on Twitter from @DohaDebates.

Join the conversation using the hashtag #DearWorld.

NEXT DEBATE COMING IN

Days

GLOBALIZATION