Capitalism

Can we prosper without growth?

Why This Debate and Why Now?

Is capitalism built for today’s challenges, or is it due for sweeping changes? As the wealth gap widens and natural resources shrink, the engine of capitalism — limitless growth — is clashing more and more with the need for sustainability on a planet whose very survival is threatened. Capitalism’s defenders say it’s adaptable to the moment, but a new movement is underway for alternative paths to prosperity without growth as its centerpiece, from the Green New Deal to initiatives in Africa and Latin America. Is common ground possible?


Three experts will debate capitalism on October 23, 2019, with live digital voting and audience participation. Mark your calendar and join the debate now @DohaDebates with the hashtag #DearWorld, and let us know which version of capitalism, or replacement for it, you suggest.

Our Participants

SPEAKERS

Three speakers, three perspectives. Each invited speaker presents a view and opinion on a possible solution to a world challenge.

Ameenah Gurib-Fakim

Former President of Mauritius, and adviser at the Global Network for Africa’s Prosperity

Anand Giridharadas

Bestselling author, journalist and political commentator

Jason Hickel

Anthropologist at the London School of Economics

 

 

Connector

The role of connector is a bridge-builder, combining elements of each opinion to create an unorthodox, challenging response that deconstructs arguments and examines their consequences.

Govinda Clayton

Senior researcher in peace processes at the Centre for Security Studies at ETH Zurich

 

Moderator

Our moderator assists the speakers throughout the debate and is the audience’s advocate for accuracy and insight.

Ghida Fakhry

International broadcast journalist and award–winning presenter

Correspondent

Our correspondent acts as the voice of the outside world during our live debate.


Nelufar Hedayat

Award–winning journalist and documentary maker

Our debate will take place October 23, 2019

Capitalism Debate in Doha, Qatar

Doha 6 p.m.

Johannesburg 5 p.m.

New York 11 a.m.

Mumbai 8:30 p.m.

Tokyo 12 a.m.

Watch the debate live on Twitter at @DohaDebates
Add to Calendar 10/23/2019 06:00 PM Europe/London GMT+1 Capitalism Debate in Doha, Qatar false

How to Join the Debate

If you are a student in Doha, you can register to be in the live studio audience here.

Join the conversation using the hashtag #DearWorld.
Find the time in your city here.

NEXT DEBATE COMING IN

Days

GLOBALIZATION